Music From The Heavens: Kentucky Rain

picture-kentuckyrain-presley

This song came out in 1970, a year after I was born. Elvis, Elvis, Elvis. Gone to soon, but seemed to be a very troubled soul with a longing for love lost. That’s how I saw him anyway, when I was younger.

He died in 1977 of an apparent prescription drug overdose. Seems to be a talent that although had great gifts, it also came with great suffering. You really never know what is going on inside someone, what they say to themselves, what fears they have, what is hidden. Addiction HIDES. What a soul lesson he had huh?…..xoxo

“Kentucky Rain”

Lyrics came from: http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/elvispresley/kentuckyrain.html

Seven lonely days
And a dozen towns ago
I reached out one night
And you were gone
Don’t know why you’d run,
What you’re running to or from
All I know is I want to bring you home

So I’m walking in the rain,
Thumbing for a ride
On this lonely Kentucky backroad
I’ve loved you much too long
And my love’s too strong
To let you go, never knowing
What went wrong

Kentucky rain keeps pouring down
And up ahead’s another town
That I’ll go walking thru
With the rain in my shoes,
Searchin for you
In the cold Kentucky rain,
In the cold Kentucky rain

Showed your photograph
To some old gray bearded man
Sitting on a bench
Outside a gen’ral store
They said “Yes, she’s been here”
But their memory wasn’t clear
Was it yesterday,
No, wait the day before

So I fin’ly got a ride
With a preacher man who asked
“Where you bound on such a dark afternoon?”
As we drove on thru the rain
As he listened I explained
And he left me with a prayer
That I’d find you

Leave a Reply

