Holistic Corner: Feeling it all-Brad Pitt

Brad-Pitt-GQ-Style-26
Photo of Mr. Pitt from: http://www.gq.com/story/brad-pitt-gq-style-cover-story

I woke up last night with a dream about Brad Pitt. When I was younger his life was a lot on my radar in dream, then it died down a bit as I evolved and learned from others. Everything is a reflection for you to grow.

Now that he was back, talking to me, I figured I had better do some research about what was bringing him into that realm again.

He has just done an article for GQ Style…along with some fantastic photos. The interview itself is raw and shows a part of celebrity that we don’t usually see. We get to see the perfection, not the imperfect, which is why celebrity is dangerous. It paints a life that isn’t real, a goal to obtain which is not realistic. This was vulnerable.

Whether he did it as a brilliant PR move or not is besides the point of it being symbolic of the male energy on the planet at this time and what is need for it to evolve.

The male energy is really trying to come to grips with the female sides of themselves. This is in everyone, regardless of gender. Good or bad. You have to acknowledge and accept who you are. Then and only then can you rise from where you are to be better or change. If you continue to deny, you will stay stuck at the level of consciousness that you are.

Everyone is having to do this work. There was a couple of things he said about dealing with the inner emotions that are hidden and what he had uncovered to this point.

“I get up every morning and I make a fire. When I go to bed, I make a fire, just because—it makes me feel life. I just feel life in this house.” -Brad Pitt

Fire is very purifying. It is interesting that he said, “to FEEL life.” When you say the words feel, you are coming from the heart. When you smother the fire of the heart with addiction and denial you cannot feel anything. When you are smothering, you think that you cannot handle what is trying to come up or trying not to deal with it.

“I do remember a few spots along the road where I’ve become absolutely tired of myself. And this is a big one. These moments have always been a huge generator for change. And I’m quite grateful for it. But me, personally, I can’t remember a day since I got out of college when I wasn’t boozing or had a spliff, or something. Something. And you realize that a lot of it is, um—cigarettes, you know, pacifiers. And I’m running from feelings. I’m really, really happy to be done with all of that. I mean I stopped everything except boozing when I started my family. But even this last year, you know—things I wasn’t dealing with. I was boozing too much. It’s just become a problem. And I’m really happy it’s been half a year now, which is bittersweet, but I’ve got my feelings in my fingertips again. I think that’s part of the human challenge: You either deny them all of your life or you answer them and evolve.”- Brad Pitt

Relationships are your biggest key to change, they are the igniter and he is right you can either answer them or not or evolve or not. It’s your choice but the opportunity has never been a better time to evolve. The energies have never been higher to help those that want to change, to open, to rise. But it takes work…work that most are struggling to do on their own and then here comes the igniter from your soul to push you. A divorce, a job loss, a death, a illness, some earthly suffering.

“Yeah, you start by removing all the decor and decorations, I think. You get down to the structure. Wow, we are in some big metaphor here now.…” – Brad Pitt

Demolition. Sometimes that is what is required for change. You are your house. Your insides are a reflection of what is outside. Sometimes you need to go back to the foundation of where it started in order for you to see where it needs to change. This is some serious work, and it is not always fun. Digging, digging down to see the beliefs that create the emotions that are being blocked and you find out that one belief has been running some of your show your entire life. That is a come-to-Jesus moment.

“You strip down to the foundation and break out the mortar. I don’t know. For me this period has really been about looking at my weaknesses and failures and owning my side of the street. I’m an asshole when it comes to this need for justice. I don’t know where it comes from, this hollow quest for justice for some perceived slight. I can drill on that for days and years. It’s done me no good whatsoever. It’s such a silly idea, the idea that the world is fair. And this is coming from a guy who hit the lottery, I’m well aware of that. I hit the lottery, and I still would waste my time on those hollow pursuits.” – Brad Pitt

Justice means-“just behavior or treatment.” -Google

We think that if we behave in a certain way, there is an expectation that others should also behave in that way. Life is unfair. We think we need to have justice and we don’t see that it turns into judgement and then who is right and wrong. Round and round we go, where it stops nobody knows. This is Karma. It will never end until you stop and look at yourself. You will see that part of the perception of another is actually you. By making another wrong, you make yourself right. You then win and what is it we get out of winning? Redemption. Self worth. Another day you don’t have to look at yourself and your own issues.

Am I saying that others always behave and act with integrity? No, but you can. This is true growth but you have to heal the shadows. The things that are eclipsed. The things that are hidden from our own view. You can only work on yourself.

“Sitting with those horrible feelings, and needing to understand them, and putting them into place. In the end, you find: I am those things I don’t like. That is a part of me. I can’t deny that. I have to accept that. And in fact, I have to embrace that. I need to face that and take care of that. Because by denying it, I deny myself. I am those mistakes. For me every misstep has been a step toward epiphany, understanding, some kind of joy. Yeah, the avoidance of pain is a real mistake. It’s the real missing out on life. It’s those very things that shape us, those very things that offer growth, that make the world a better place, oddly enough, ironically. That make us better.” – Brad Pitt 

“It’s a different world, too. We know more, we’re more focused on psychology. I come from a place where, you know, it’s strength if we get a bruise or cut or ailment we don’t discuss it, we just deal with it. We just go on. The downside of that is it’s the same with our emotion. I’m personally very retarded when it comes to taking inventory of my emotions. I’m much better at covering up. I grew up with a Father-knows-best/war mentality—the father is all-powerful, super strong—instead of really knowing the man and his own self-doubt and struggles. And it’s hit me smack in the face with our divorce: I gotta be more. I gotta be more for them. I have to show them. And I haven’t been great at it.”-Brad Pitt

Brad-Pitt-GQ-Style-Cover-3
Photo of Mr. Pitt from: http://www.gq.com/story/brad-pitt-gq-style-cover-story

We cannot be strong if we deny. Real strength comes from acceptance not being fake and I am not talking about whiny,  reality TV, crying drama. We see enough of that on a daily basis. Real heart emotions will transform you. Your female side will be strong. This is the only way to be balanced and it is a daily job. Look at who is reflecting your female and male sides back to you…

Mr. Pitt has this quote on his arm. “There exists a field, beyond all notions of right and wrong. I will meet you there.” -Rumi

This is hopefully the road that he is taking steps to become on his soul journey. The only way to be one within, is to be balanced with the male and female energies. This is the challenge and calling of us all. It is time to rise up to greatness, feel it all and heal the heart….xoxo

To read the full article on Brad Pitt here: http://www.gq.com/story/brad-pitt-gq-style-cover-story

Quotes from Brad Pitt via GQ and PHOTOGRAPHS BY 

 

Leave a Reply

